The Police - (Ghost In The Machine) - SP 3730 - (Condition 80-85%) - LP Record

Ghost in the Machine is the fourth studio album by English rock band The Police. The album was originally released on 2 October 1981 by A&M. The songs were recorded between January and September 1981 during sessions that took place at AIR Studios in Montserrat and Le Studio in Quebec, assisted by record producer Hugh Padgham.

Production and recording

The album reached No. 1 in the UK Albums Chart and No. 2 in the U.S. Billboard 200. The band released three successful singles from the album: "Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic", "Invisible Sun", and "Spirits in the Material World". However, the song "Secret Journey" was released as a single in the U.S. in place of "Invisible Sun". The album went multi-platinum in the U.S. It was listed at No. 323 in the Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.

The album was the first Police record to feature heavy use of keyboards and horns. "Spirits in the Material World" has a rhythmic string synthesizer part, "Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic" uses piano arpeggios and "Invisible Sun" has a background of synthesizer chords. The following twenty minutes of the record—"Hungry for You (J'aurais Toujours Faim de Toi)" through "One World (Not Three)"—include many saxophone harmonies, while the opening to "Secret Journey" showcases the Roland Guitar Synthesizer.

Sting included all the synthesizer parts in his demos for the songs, and brought in Jean Roussel for the piano parts on "Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic". The demo for "Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic" was such a high-budget recording that the group could not better it with the equipment available at AIR Studios; they ended up using it as the backing track for the official recording, with Stewart Copeland and Andy Summers dubbing their parts on. Sting also played all the saxophone parts on the album. Summers recollected:

I have to say I was getting disappointed with the musical direction around the time of Ghost in the Machine. With the horns and synth coming in, the fantastic raw-trio feel—all the really creative and dynamic stuff—was being lost. We were ending up backing a singer doing his pop songs.

The LP opens with "Spirits in the Material World", featuring keyboards dubbed over Summers' reggae-inspired guitar licks. "Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic" features piano, a strong Caribbean vibe, and an extended non-verbal vocal solo at the end. "Invisible Sun" is a mixture of slow, steady verses, a bombastic chorus, and several guitar solos. "Hungry For You (J'Aurais Toujours Faim de Toi)" is sung mostly in French, with the bass and horns both repeating a single 8-note melody for the length of the song, while the guitar maintains a steady beat. "Demolition Man", the band's longest song—almost six minutes in length—features a strong bass line and saxophone, and was written by Sting while staying at Peter O'Toole's Irish mansion. It became a belated hit in 1993 as the theme song for the action movie of the same name, starring Sylvester Stallone and Wesley Snipes. Grace Jones and Sting have both recorded solo versions of the song. Manfred Mann's Earth Band also recorded a version—rearranged and with extensive use of synthesizers—in 1982 for their Somewhere in Afrika album.

"Too Much Information", "Rehumanize Yourself" and "One World (Not Three)" feature heavy use of horns. As with "Landlord" and "Dead End Job", Copeland had written both music and lyrics for "Rehumanize Yourself" but Sting rejected the lyrics and replaced them with ones he wrote himself.The final three songs, "Omegaman", "Secret Journey" and "Darkness", return to the darker sound which opens the album. "Omegaman" was chosen by A&M to be the first single from the album, but Sting—who had only played on the song grudgingly—refused to allow its release in single form.

Record Details


The Police - (Ghost in the Machine) - SP 3730


The Police


The Police & Hugh Padgham

Releasing Year



Private Songs




A&M Records

Made In



A&M Records. Inc 

Serial No.

SP 3730

Side One

  • Spirits in the Material World


  • Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic


  • Invisible Sun


  • Hungry for You (J'aurais toujours faim de toi)


  • Demolition Man


Side Two

  • Too Much Information


  • Rehumanize Yourself


  • One World (Not Three)


  • Omegaman


  • Secret Journey


  • Darkness




12 Inches


33 RPM

Record Condition


Cover Condition


Producer - 1 The Police
Producer - 2 Hugh Padgham
Record Details
Genre Private Songs
Label A&M Records
Language English
Releasing Year 1981
Size 12 Inches
Speed 33 RPM
Singer - 1 The Police
Side1 - Song1 Spirits in the Material World
Side1 - Song2 Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic
Side1 - Song3 Invisible Sun
Side1 - Song4 Hungry for You (J'aurais toujours faim de toi)
Side1 - Song5 Demolition Man
Side2 - Song1 Too Much Information
Side2 - Song2 Rehumanize Yourself
Side2 - Song3 One World (Not Three)
Side2 - Song4 Omegaman
Side2 - Song5 Secret Journey
Side2 - Song6 Darkness

Write a review

Please login or register to review

The Police - (Ghost In The Machine) - SP 3730 - (Condition 80-85%) - LP Record

  • Brand: A&M Records
  • Product Code: SP 3730
  • Availability: In Stock
  • Rs.1,500.00

  • Ex Tax: Rs.1,500.00

Tags: the police, ghost in the machine, sp 3730, condition 80-85, lp record, english, private songs